Let's start Ruby on Rails

·

1 min read

Install

Rails is Web Application Framework written in Ruby. So I need to install Ruby first. I already have a homebrew and will use it.

brew update
brew install rbenv && brew upgrade ruby-build

rbenv is a Ruby version management tool.

rbenv install 2.7.1
rbenv rehash
ruby --version

Install Ruby. I have installed the current stable version 2.7.1. And check the ruby version. If you don't get the correct version, run the following command to add rbenv to bash.

echo 'if which rbenv > /dev/null; then eval "$(rbenv init -)"; fi' >> ~/.bash_profile
source ~/.bash_profile

Next, install Bundler. Bundler is a Gem dependency management tool. Gem is a package on Ruby.

gem install bundler

Finally, install Rails.

gem install rails --no-document

Done. Now I can start my project with Rails.